Image

You Can’t Have Success Without a Life of Integrity

Most people make resolutions and set goals, only to fail within the first month, but why? Could you be lacking integrity?

Risorsa 1
Alex Hernán
April 14, 2024

It is a new year, and there are a lot of people that have made new resolutions to make a change in their life. Unfortunately, 85% of people who make resolutions don’t make it past the first month. That means 85% of people who have made new year’s resolutions will have already failed or given up by the end of January. After that, it is an even smaller percentage of people who make it a whole 12 months and stick to their resolution.

Why is that? Why do so few people make it through their resolutions while so many give up within the first month?

So many fail at following through with their resolutions because they are afraid to change. To achieve their resolutions means that they have to change and change is scary. Even if we don’t like where we are at if it means changing ourselves and changing our thoughts, we become afraid to do it. We become comfortable with who we are. We become comfortable with the same thoughts that we have, day in and day out, the thoughts that don’t allow us to change.

Those old thoughts that we have, it is nothing more than old programming. Essentially, in a time where we have Alexa and Google, you are still running Microsoft Dos, and in the world today, that just doesn’t work. Your old, programmed thoughts are the same. Chances are, these thoughts are not working in the current world you are living in today, so to achieve your goals and stick to your resolutions, you need to reprogram your brain to run a better program.

Who Are You Without Your Thoughts?

One reason we hang onto our way of thinking so tightly is that, if we let them go and we change, then who are we? We identify with our thoughts and our past programming. It has made us who we are today.

Take away the thoughts that you’ve been thinking your whole life, and who are you?

If you want to achieve your goals and your resolutions, then you need to make some changes, and we may need to separate yourself from the person you think you are. Separate yourself from your past conditioning and stop identifying with your old thoughts. To do this, you must have commitment and integrity.

That is what this year is about – commitment and integrity.

You’ve made a commitment, and you have the integrity to stand by it. You’ve laid down the law and made the decision of what if is you need to change to achieve your resolutions.

It is non-negotiable.

Without integrity, you can’t hold yourself accountable, and this is what so many people are missing when they establish goals and set new resolutions. They make the commitment, and that is great, but they fail to have the integrity to hold themselves accountable and follow through to the end.

Whenn you make a commitment, you need to do everything with integrity.

I Made the Commitment and Had the Integrity to Change My Life for the Better

Over the past decade, I’ve learned to not only make a commitment, but I had to learn how to have the integrity to follow through. By gaining integrity, I have been able to change my life for the better and be a role model that my kids to look up to.

When I was younger, I was addicted to drugs. From the age of 18, I was using hard drugs and living a life that was bound to come crashing down, and at age 31, it finally did. I spent over a decade using drugs, and when I finally made a commitment to focus on my health, I didn’t have the integrity to follow through.

When I began my health journey, my only goal was to get a six-pack. During this time, I still used and didn’t have the integrity to change who I was and make the right decisions to get to my goal. I made the commitment, but my lack of integrity meant that my goals weren’t realized.

It wasn’t until I gained integrity that I could follow through with my commitment. I focused on my health and changed who I was and got rid of the out-dated programming that was keeping me from moving forward. I stopped my drug use and began to focus on eating clean. I began to work out and pay attention to the way I was treating my body.

That was seven years ago. Today, I not only have my six-pack, but I am in the best shape of my life. I have more energy than I ever imagined, and I am living the life I have always wanted. I was not only able to achieve my goals but surpass them because I made a commitment and had the integrity to follow through.

If you are not reaching your goals, and you find yourself continually failing to stick to your resolutions, then you may need to gain some awareness. So some self-reflecting and figure out why you keep failing. Chances are it is because of a lack of integrity that keeps you from realizing your true potential.

If you have made a New Year’s resolution and you have already fallen off, don’t worry. It is not too late to achieve your goals. Start again, and stay committed. Find that integrity and use it to surpass your own goals.